28 days later 

I have, in no particular order: 

  1. Trekked for 4.5 days and covered over 80km at Torres del Paine National Park (Chile) 
  2. Felt very, very small in a giant salt flat left behind by a lake that dried up 45,000 years ago (Bolivia)
  3. Had my mind blown by street art in Valparaiso (Chile)
  4. Learnt to not fall off a galloping horse after three glasses of wine (Argentina) 
  5. Eaten a ribeye the size of my fist (Argentina) 
  6. Saw a bunch of llamas and vicuñas (Bolivia)
  7. Clocked one overnight bus ride (18 hours, in Argentina)
  8. Walked on a glacier (Chile)
  9. Devoured a spectacular pastel de jaiva (crab stew) twice (Chile)
  10. Come to believe that sandwich making is an art (Chile) 
  11. Learnt to superficially spot the difference between Aymara and Quechua people (Bolivia)
  12. Met at least four people who also came to South America after leaving their jobs 
  13. Fallen in love with empanadas (Argentina)
  14. Been impressed by the happiness level of street dogs (Chile)
  15. Encountered a blizzard (Bolivia)

Someone once said to me: “You always say that”, when, asked how my last holiday, I responded: “Amazing!”

I thought about this as I looked through some of the photos I took over the past four weeks – a time period I would indeed describe as “amazing”. Mostly because it is true – there have been virtually no dud moments in my trip so far that made me think, “why did I come here?” 

But it’s also just how I feel about travelling and getting out there to see the world. Even when I don’t love what I see or experience, I like that my world is just is a little bigger. 

What’s amazing to me isn’t always amazing to other people, and that’s the whole point of getting out of town once in a while. You can do something a million other people have done before you, and still feel changed or moved by the experience in your own way. 

On the Sayta Cabalgatas ranch in Argentina
Valparaiso, Chile
Valparaiso, Chile
Horseback riding in Chicoana, Argentina
At the bus terminal of La Quiaca, Argentina
Checking out the view over Tupiza, Bolivia
In the Reserva Nacional de Fauna Andino Eduardo Avaroa, Bolivia
Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia

2 thoughts on “28 days later 

  1. I have been to Argentina as well and loved it. We just came back from Chile and I recognized the locations from Valparaiso. Always cool to see how others “see” the same destination.
    Didn’t make it down south and Bolivia is still missing too. Your last picture with the Jeep was super cool btw!

    Like

Leave a Reply

